Create a high quality document online now!

Updated September 08, 2022

An Alaska lease agreement is a document used to allow a landlord to rent a property to a tenant for monthly payment. The landlord will write the lease after coming to a verbal agreement and checking their financial credentials. After the lease is signed by both parties, the landlord and tenant will be obligated to its terms until the end date.

Rental Application – It is recommended, although not required, to have the tenant be verified of their income and/or background before the landlord agrees to a rental agreement.

Table of Contents

Agreement Types (6)

Standard Lease Agreement – Fixed arrangement of usually one (1) year but can be for any amount of time as agreed by the parties.

Download: Adobe PDF , MS Word , OpenDocument

Commercial Lease Agreement – For the use of any type of business-related property such as retail, office, and/or industrial.

Download: Adobe PDF , MS Word , OpenDocument

Month to Month Lease Agreement  ( AS 34.03.290(b) ) – Known as a tenancy at will which allows either party to cancel the arrangement with at least thirty (30) days’ notice from either party.

Download: Adobe PDF , MS Word , OpenDocument

Rent-to-Own Lease Agreement – A standard residential lease with the added benefit of having the power to purchase the property during an agreed-upon option period.

Download: Adobe PDF , MS Word , OpenDocument

Room Rental (Roommate) Agreement – To be signed by all the members of a shared living situation to establish the rules for common areas and payment(s) for utilities.

Download: Adobe PDF , MS Word , OpenDocument

Sublease Agreement – A tenant may elect to have someone else move in and continue the lease under the current arrangement with the landlord.

Download: Adobe PDF , MS Word , OpenDocument

Required Disclosures (4)

Absence ( § 34.03.150 ) – The agreement must state that if the tenant leaves the property for more than seven (7) days that the landlord is to be notified.

Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Federal law requiring all housing units built prior to 1978 to issue this disclosure and brochure to new tenants.

Identification  ( § 34.03.080 ) – The landlord must write the person(s) authorized to receive notices/demands by the tenant.

Withholding Security Deposit (§ 34.03.070 ) – If the landlord would like the option to withhold the security deposit after the lease term, for any reason, the terms must be stated.

Security Deposits

Maximum Amount ( § 34.03.070(a) ) – The landlord can only charge a maximum amount of two (2) months’ rent unless the amount is more than two thousand dollars ($2,000) under which this section is irrelevant.

Returning to Tenant  ( § 34.03.070(g) ) – Fourteen (14) days if the tenant leaves on time or gives proper termination. Thirty (30) days if the tenant did not give proper termination to the landlord.

When is Rent Due?

The rent is due on the day mentioned in the lease agreement ( AS 34.03.020(c) ). If rent is late, the landlord can give the tenant a 7-day notice to quit giving them the option to pay rent or vacate.

Late Fees

Late Fees – There is no maximum, although late fees must be stated in the lease agreement and cannot be more than the Alaska maximum usury rate .

NSF checks  – There is a maximum fee the landlord can charge of $30 per occurrence ( § 09.68.115(a)(2) ).

Right to Enter (Landlord)

The landlord must give at least twenty-four (24) hours’ notice to the tenant before entering the premises ( § 34.03.140 ).