Create a high quality document online now!

Updated June 01, 2022

An Alabama firearm bill of sale is a document that allows an entity or individual to legally transfer ownership of a pistol or assault weapon. Although all individuals must have a concealed carry permit if they wish to handle handguns within the bbin电竞官网官方永久 of Alabama, to date, there are no permits that will be required in this state to purchase a weapon.

Table of Contents

Privately Selling a Firearm

Any person may sell a firearm in a private sale.

Prohibited from Buying

In accordance with Section 13A-11-72 , the following persons are not allowed to purchase a firearm:

  • No person who has been convicted in this state or elsewhere of committing or attempting to commit a crime of violence, misdemeanor offense of domestic violence, violent offense as listed in Section 12-25-32(15) , anyone who is subject to a valid protection order for domestic abuse, or anyone of unsound mind shall own a firearm or have one in his or her possession or under his or her control.
  • No person who is a minor, except under the circumstances provided in this section, a drug addict, or a habitual drunkard shall own a pistol or have one in his or her possession or under his or her control.
  • Subject to the exceptions provided by Section 13A-11-74 , no person shall knowingly with intent to do bodily harm carry or possess a deadly weapon on the premises of a public school.

Registering a Firearm

There is no background check, permit, or any type of registration required when an individual wants to own a pistol.

Concealed Carry

Carrying a firearm in a concealed manner is prohibited unless the carrier holds a pistol permit  or has a permit from another bbin电竞官网官方永久.

How to Apply

Applicants must be at least 18 years of age, a resident of Alabama, and not have a criminal record that prohibits the ownership of a firearm.

Step 1 – Go to a local Sherriff’s office either online or in-person. A background check will be required.

Step 2 – Pay fees (depends on county) and wait up to 30 days for approval of the permit.

Step 3 – Accept the pistol permit certificate which may require pick up in-person.


Alabama recognizes any concealed carry permit from another bbin电竞官网官方永久.